56th National Film Awards Winners

fashionThe 56th National Film Awards for year 2008 were announced today.

Priyanka Chopra bagged the Best Actress Award for her role in Fashion. The actress who is currently in New York shooting for her forth coming film Anjaana Anjaani posted an obvious thank you speech on Twitter saying, “Thank you Madhur, Ronnie, Kangna, Mugdha, Arjan, Arbaaz and the cast and crew!! A huge shout to my team and all of u!! God is kind!!! Yaaaaayyy!!

Upendra Limaye is awarded the Best Actor award for the Marathi film Jogwa and Arjun Rampal the Best Supporting Actor award for Rock On.

Madhur Bhandarkar must surely be a happy man, as the Best Supporting Actress Award has gone to Kangna Ranaut, again for his film Fashion.

While the award for the Best Popular Film has gone to Dibakar Banerjee’s Oye Lucky! Lucky Oye!

Rahul Bose-starrer Bengali film Antaheen is named as the Best Film and is also selected for Awards in Best Cinematography, Best Lyrics and Best Female Playback Singer categories.

Firaaq is selected for Best Editing and Best Art Direction categories; Little Zizou (English, Gujarati) is adjudged the Best Film on Family values. Neeta Lulla is selected for Best Costume Designer for Hindi film Jodhaa Akbar, while Chinni Prakash and Rekha Prakash have won the Best Choreography Award for ‘Azeem-o-Shaan Shaheshah’ for Jodhaa Akbar.

Best Feature Film in Hindi language has gone to Rock On, while Best Feature Film in Marathi language is bagged by Harishchandrachi Factory.

A Wednesday has won the Indira Gandhi Award for the Best First film Of A Director, while Road Side Romeo has won the Best Animation Film Award.

The Feature Film Jury which was headed by Shri Shaji N. Karun. Members – Shri Roshan Taneja, Shri H.M. Ramachandra, Ms Nagma, Shri Satyabrata Kalita, Shri Neelakanta, Shri Dilip Ghosh, Shri Swapan Mullick, Shri Sudesh Syal, Shri S.K. Srivastava, Ms Archana, Shri B. Shashi Kumar, Shri Subhash Sehgal, Shri Santosh Desai and Ms Sreelekha Mukherjee were involved in judging the 126 entries for feature film categories for the 56th National Film Awards.

However, the awards will be conferred by the President of India, Pratibha Devisingh Patil, in March 2010.


You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *