Bollywood Buzz

100 Cr. Awards

Zee Cine Awards this year created new set of awards titled ‘100 Cr. Box Office’ Awards. As the number of multiplexes increasing within the country and rapidly increasing overseas territories, 100 Crore target now doesn’t seem distant for producers anymore. This year fastest 100 Cr. was earned within 5 days by Salman starrer Ek Tha Tiger breaking his own record created by Bodyguard last year.

Filmmakers and distributors too are known to leave no stone unturned in their attempt to cross over to the right side of the much-coveted figure, say industry observers. And to recognise the importance of this coveted club and honour the entrants, the Zee Cine Awards 2013 introduced a new award, The Power Club Box Office. Winning this prestigious honour were nine directors whose films crossed the Rs.100-crore mark.
Bollywood star Priyanka Chopra — who herself is a part of two Rs.100-crore films this year, Agneepath andBarfi! — handed out the trophies.

Arbaaz Khan (Dabangg 2), Sajid Khan (Housefull 2), Kabir Khan (Ek Tha Tiger), Rohit Shetty (Bol Bachchan), Ashwini Dhir (Son of Sardaar), Karan Malhotra (Agneepath), Anurag Basu (Barfi!) and Prabhudeva (Rowdy Rathore) were recipients of this award. Late filmmaker Yash Chopra was posthumously awarded for his Shah Rukh Khan-starrer Jab Tak Hai Jaan.

Filmmaker Anurag Basu shared with the audience the tip given by producer Ronnie Screwvala. According to Anurag, Ronnie said, “No matter how many awards we win, keep getting this Rs.100-crore trophy back every year!” This had everyone in the audience in splits

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *