Bollywood Buzz

Nominations for 15th IIFA Awards 2014

The nominations for the IIFA awards 2014 have Bhaag Milkha Bhaag leading with 10 nods followed by Ram-Leela and Aashiqui 2 with 7 nominations each. Deepika Padukone leads the Best Actress category with three nominations.

Farhan Akhtar-starrer “Bhaag Milkha Bhaag”, a biopic on former athlete Milkha Singh, has bagged a maximum of 10 nominations for the International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) Awards, to be held in Tampa Bay, Florida later this year.

The nominations of the popular category for the 15th edition of the extravaganza, touted to be Indian cinema’s most spectacular awards outside the country, were announced Thursday.

Competing in close quarters with “Bhaag Milkha Bhaag” are gun-fest “Goliyon Ki Raasleela – Ram-Leela” and the heart-wrenching “Aashiqui 2” with seven nominations each. The Ranbir Kapoor-starrer “Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani” scored six nominations, said a statement.

Other appreciated films of 2013 – “Krrish 3”, “Chennai Express”, “Kai Po Che” and “The Lunchbox” have been nominated across various award categories for the awards, the winners of which will be announced at the Raymond James Stadium in Tampa Bay April 26.

In the performance in a leading role (male) category are Shahrukh Khan (“Chennai Express”), Hrithik Roshan (“Krrish 3”), Ranbir Kapoor (“Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani”), Farhan Akhtar (“Bhaag Milka Bhaag”), Ranveer Singh (“…Ram-Leela”) and newcomer Sushant Singh Rajput (“Kai Po Che”).

Deepika Padukone steals the limelight in the performance in a leading role (female) category with three nominations for her work in “… Ram-Leela”, “Chennai Express” and “Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani”. Other contenders are Sonakshi Sinha (“Lootera”), Nimrat Kaur (“The Lunchbox”) and Shraddha Kapoor (“Aashiqui 2”).

The best director nominees include filmmakers like Sanjay Leela Bhansali, Rakesh Roshan, Rohit Shetty, Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra and Abhishek Kapoor.

The best film category witnesses 2013’s runway successes – “Dhoom 3”, “Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani”, “… Ram-Leela”, “Krrish 3”, “Kai Po Che”, “Chennai Express” and “Bhaag Milkha Bhaag”.

The Videocon D2H IIFA Weekend, to be presented by Tata Motors, will be held April 23-26.

Best Film
Aditya Chopra – Dhoom 3
Karan Johar – Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani
Kishore Lulla & Sanjay Leela Bhansali – Goliyon Ki Rasleela-Ramleela
Rakesh Roshan – Krrish 3
Ronnie Screwvala & Siddharth Roy Kapoor – Kai Po Che
Ronnie Screwvala,Siddharth Roy Kapoor, Gauri Khan & Karim Morani – Chennai Express
Viacom 18 Motion Pictures & Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag

Best Director
Abhishek Kapoor – Kai Po Che
Rakesh Roshan – Krrish 3
Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
Rohit Shetty – Chennai Express
Sanjay Leela Bhansali – Goliyon Ki Rasleela- Ramleela

Performance in a Leading Role (Male)
Farhan Akhtar – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
Hrithik Roshan – Krrish 3
Ranbir Kapoor – Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani
Ranveer Singh – Goliyon Ki Rasleela-Ramleela
Shahrukh Khan – Chennai Express
Sushant Singh Rajput – Kai Po Che

Perfomance in a Leading Role (Female)
Deepika Padukone – Chennai Express
Deepika Padukone – Goliyon Ki Rasleela- Ramleela
Deepika Padukone – Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani
Nimrat Kaur – The Lunchbox
Shraddha Kapoor – Aashiqui 2
Sonakshi Sinha – Lootera

Performance in a Supporting Role (Male)
Aditya Roy Kapoor – Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani
Anupam Kher – Special 26
Nawazuddin Siddiqui – The Lunchbox
Pawan Malhotra – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
Saurabh Shukla – Jolly LLB

Performance in a Supporting Role (Female)
Divya Dutta – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
Kalki Koechlin – Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani
Kangana Ranaut – Krrish 3
Richa Chadda – Goliyon Ki Rasleela-Ramleela
Shruti Hassan – D Day
Swara Bhaskar – Raanjhanaa

Performance in a Comic Role
Arshad Warsi – Jolly LLB
Riteish Deshmukh – Grand Masti
Varun Sharma – Fukrey

Performance in a Negative Role
Rishi Kapoor – D-Day
Rishi Kapoor – Aurangzeb
Supriya Pathak – Goliyon Ki Rasleela- Ramleela
Vivek Oberoi – Krrish 3

Music Direction
Mithoon, Ankit Tiwari,Jeet Ganguly – Aashiqui 2
Pritam – Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani
Shankaar – Ehsaan – Loy – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag

Best Story
Prasoon Joshi – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
Pubali Chaudhuri, Abhishek Kapoor & Chetan Bhagat – Kai Po Che
Ritesh Batra – The Lunchbox

Mithoon – Tum Hi Ho – Aashiqui 2
Prasoon Joshi – O Rangrez – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
Sandeep Nath – Sunn Raha Hai – Aashiqui 2

Playback Singer (Male)
Ankit Tiwari – Sunn Rahai Hai – Aashiqui 2
Arijit Singh – Tum Hi Ho – Aashiqui 2
Siddharth Mahadevan – Zinda – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag

Playback Singer (Female)
Bhoomi Trivedi – Ram Chahe Leela – Goliyon Ki Rasleela – Ramleela
Monali Thakur – Sawaar Loon – Lootera
Shreya Ghoshal – Sunn Raha Hai – Aashiqui 2
Shreya Ghoshal – O Rangrez – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *